Sunday, September 18, 2016

Reflection on Place and Culture

I am Filipino, Scottish, and English. My Grandma on my Dads side is Filipino and was born and raised in the Philippines and knows tagalog. My dad's dad is Scottish and was born and raised the U.S. so my dad is half Filipino and half Scottish and my mom is English and German. Making me a quarter Filipino, a quarter Scottish, a quarter German, and a quarter English. I am most influenced by Filipino culture because my grandma makes lots of Filipino foods like lumpia, pancit, chicken adobo, and sou pao, which is my favorite. My other grandma does not make German food. My Filipino grandma is now teaching me tagalog which is very different form the English language. It would be very hard for me to reach out to my cousins in the Philippines because many words, or phrases, would be lost in translation. I don't have much cultural influence from my mom's side of the family. Because the last two generations before my mom's parents were already in the U.S. so they were not influenced by their original culture but by American culture.

All About Me

        Hi my name is Madeline Jay Cox, I am 15 years old and go to Fortuna High School. I have three younger siblings and live in northern California where I have lived my whole life. I have played volleyball, track, soccer, and basketball, but I am currently doing Cross country. Cross country is running and my team and I practice everyday running from 2 to 5 miles, our races are 3 miles each. My favorite sport is track, which is a spring sport, in track I run two races the 400 meter race and the 200 meter race. I spend most of my time outside of school spending time with my family and friends and also doing sports. I have 4 pets a dog, two cats, and a rabbit, the dog is my brothers and one of the cats is my sisters. My siblings are all younger than me, I have a brother Bo who is 13 and twin sisters Allie and Chloe who are 10 years old. In the future I would like to go to UC Davis or Cal Poly for college and I would also like to travel around the world. Right now I'm only sophomore in high school and I can't wait to see what this world has in store for me.